The first campus radio station, KVRO, went on the air in the spring of 1949.
The so-called "wired-wireless" radio station was made possible by wires that were strung throughout campus from building to building and dorm to dorm. A radio signal from a five-watt transmitter was sent through the lines, allowing them to serve as mini-transmitting towers for students to receive AM radio broadcasts (660 AM) in each building.
KVRO stood for Kampus Varsity Radio Organization, a club to give practical working experience to students who were planning a career in radio. The effort was headed by John Woodworth, who had taught speech, radio and drama at OU and Baylor in addition to serving as former program director for KOMA in Oklahoma City.
Two electrical engineering graduates from Oklahoma A&M College, Paul McCollom and Robert Ledbetter, provided the technical know-how to make the station a reality. Students in the radio club cleaned out the attic in Williams Hall (old Library Building) and used lumber and fiberboard to craft the first radio studio on campus.
Later housed in the old Science Building (now Paul Miller Building), KVRO served as a radio training ground for OSU students. The station is now under private ownership in Stillwater.