1983 Flying Aggies named nation’s top club

The Flying Aggies again earned the designation as the nation’s top collegiate flying club by winning the coveted Loening Trophy for the 18th time in 1983. The perpetual trophy is presented annually to the outstanding collegiate aviation program in the nation and represents the achievement of superb aeronautical skills as well as accomplishments in academics, community involvement, safety and professionalism.

The award is named in honor of aviation pioneer and inventor, Dr. Grover Hoening, the first aeronautical engineer for the Wright Brothers. The silver Tiffany trophy was first awarded in 1929 and is still considered the most prestigious award offered at the annual SAFECON flying competition.The Flying Aggies solidified their was reputation as on of Oklahoma’s winningest college teams in 1983, when it was designated as the nation's top collegiate flying club for the 18th time.

The student flying club encourages interest in aviation, provides safe, economical flying for its members, and advances the knowledge of the membership in aeronautical and related subjects.