1975 President's Distinguished Scholars program established

The OSU Foundation began the President's Distinguished Scholars program in 1975 to recognize top high school students and attract them to OSU. In 1977, four President's Distinguished Scholars were each granted an award of $1,200 each.

The program is now regarded as one of the finest undergraduate scholarships available at OSU and is designed as a recruiting tool to bring top high school graduates to Stillwater.

The first PDS gift, which required a minimum of $25,000, came from Dr. Melvin D. and Mary E. Jones, who made the Foundation's first $1,000 gift back in 1963.

The first PDS recipients of the $1,200 per year, four-year awards were freshmen Becky Jacks of Pryor, Lynn Loomis of Mooreland, Cheryl Phillips of Midwest City, and Michael Ragsdale of Perry.

(Photo) President Kamm and First Lady Maxine prepare for commencement ceremonies.