1994 Smith Leads Cowboys to National Championship

John Smith, in his second year at the helm of the Cowboy program, led OSU to its 30th NCAA Championship in 1994. Smith's younger brother Pat Smith became the first wrestler to ever win four NCAA Individual Championships, while Alan Fried and Mark Branch both recorded their first NCAA titles. In all, six Cowboys earned All-America honors. During the dual season, OSU posted a 13-1 record and notched its 23rd Big Eight title. Under Smith, the Cowboys have won five NCAA Championships (1994, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006).