2000 Scholars Hall of Fame established

OSU President James Halligan was joined by Lou Watkins, chairwoman for the OSU Board of Regents, to cut the ribbon on the Scholars Hall of Fame in the Student Union on Friday, Dec. 8, 2000. At that time, the new hall showcased the 10 OSU Truman Scholars as well as seven other students who had received other prestigious national awards. It has since been expanded and was renamed the Halligan Hall of Scholars in 2007 in honor of Halligan and his wife Ann. Numerous student accomplishments during the Halligan presidency (1994-2003) led to OSU’s recognition as a national leader for undergraduate achievement.